Halal and Haram
What is Halal?
Halal is an Arabic term which can be basically translated to mean ‘permissible or lawful in Islam’. In Islamic principles, the term Halal takes a specific, well-defined meaning.
What is Haram?
This is another Arabic term which means Impermissible, sinful or Unlawful in Islam.
What Qur'an says:
General Qur’anic guidance dictates that all foods are Halal except those that are specifically mentioned as Haram (unlawful or prohibited). The Glorious Qur’an reads
“O ye who believes! Eat the good things wherewith we have provided you, and render thanks to Allah, if it is He whom ye worship. (chapter II, Verse 172)”
“He hath forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and swine flesh, and that on which hath been invoked any other name besides Allah’s……..” (Chapter II, Verse 173)
“Forbidden unto you (for food) are: carrion and blood and swine flesh, and that on which hath been invoked the name other than Allah, and the strangled, and the dead through beating, and the dead through falling from a height, and that which hath been gored to death, and the devoured of wild beasts, saving that which ye make lawful (by slaughter) and that which hath been immolated to idols and that ye swear by the divining arrows. This is an abomination….” (Chapter V, Verse 3)
Meat is the most strictly regulated of the food groups. Not only are blood, pork, and the meat of dead animals or those immolated to other than Allah strongly prohibited, it is also required that the Halal animals be slaughtered while pronouncing the name of Allah at the time of slaughter.
“Eat of that over which the name of Allah hath been mentioned, if ye are believers in his revelations” (Chapter VI, Verse 118)
“And eat not of that whereon Allah’s name hath not been mentioned, for lo! It is abomination. Lo! The devils do inspire their friends to contend with you. But if ye obey them, ye will be in truth idolaters”. (Chapter VI, Verse 121)
Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) said: “Halal is clear and the Haram (unlawful) is clear. Between the two there are doubtful matters concerning which people do not know. One who avoids them in order to safeguard his deen (religion) and his honour is safe, while if someone indulges in it, he may be indulging in the unlawful……” (Bukhari)
Halal AnimalsThe following animals are fit for Muslim consumption:
- All domestic birds
- All cattle
- All types of buck
If you want to get more information on Halal Animals, please talk to your local Imam.
Haram AnimalsThe consumption of the following animals is against the dietary laws of Islam. Likewise, any ingredient or product derived from them or contaminated with them is also prohibited for a Muslim to consume:
- Meat of an animal that was not blessed with the name of Allah at the time of slaughter
- Animals killed in a manner which prevents their blood from being fully drained from their bodies;
- Meat of swine (pig) including all it’s by-products
- Meat of dead animals (carrion)
- Meat of animals that were strangled to death
- Meat of animals that were beaten to death
- Meat of animals that died due to falling from a height
- Meat of animals that were gored to death by a horn
- Meat of animals that were devoured by wild beasts
- Carnivorous animals with fangs, e.g. lions, dogs, wolves, tigers, etc…
- Birds of prey e.g. falcons, eagles, owls, vultures, etc
- Reptiles, snakes, crocodiles
- Mules and Asses
- Pests’ e.g. rats and scorpions
- Insects excluding locusts